Upgrade Procedures Have Changed

Feb 23
Filed in:
Race news,

Comments (1)

This isn’t exactly breaking news. but USA Cycling has eliminated the 12-month rolling window for accumulating upgrade points.

Starting with points accumulated on January 1, 2012, you will keep your points, forever, and they count towards upgrades. There is right now no limit to how long your points will count.

I spoke to Tom Mahoney, Technical Programs Manager at USA Cycling to clarify this. As for the reason behind the change, he said that Steve Johnson requested this change because in some areas, it is extremely difficult to find the quantity and quality (field size) of racing for those intent on upgrading, particularly from category 3 to category 2.

Points are hard to come by with smaller fields, (this page hasn’t been updated to reflect the new upgrade rules).

From the USAC site, here is the official document, which also covers cyclocross upgrade changes.

Road Upgrades

The 12-month window for accruing points for road upgrades has been removed for all categories. This rule goes into effect in 2013, so 2012 points will roll forward into 2013. However, this will not be used retroactively to years prior to 2012. Juniors are no longer forced to upgrade to either Category 2 or Category 1, even if they have accrued the mandatory upgrade points. They may upgrade if they choose, but such an upgrade will not be forced.

There are four ways a rider can upgrade from Category 4 to Category 3. A rider can accumulate 20 points, compete in 25 qualifying races with at least ten top-10 finishes in fields of at least 30 riders, or have 20 pack finishes in fields of at least 50 riders. The fourth way a rider can upgrade would be to amass 30 points in a 12-month period for a mandatory upgrade.

For Category 3 to 2 road upgrades, riders must accrue 30 points instead of 25. 40 points in a 12-month period is still a mandatory upgrade.

For Category 2 to 1 road upgrades, riders may upgrade once they have accrued 35 points. 50 points in a 12 month period is a mandatory upgrade. Note that only 10 points from training series or masters races may be used for upgrading.

If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to contact USA Cycling’s Membership Department at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).