Race Report: Spring Super Criterium

Apr 9
Filed in:

Comments (1)

​The 6th Annual Spring Super Criterium presented by Burnham Racing went off on Saturday, April 6th under windy but relatively mild temperatures. Most fields were either sold out or near capacity as CBR’land racers are chomping at the bit to get out and race - lots of racers doing doubles and even triples!  Full results are posted on USA Cycling and Road Results.  Also check out Burnham Racing’s Facebook page for result sheets and podium pictures.

Elite Cat 1/2/3  - special shout out to Hunter Davis (U of Chicago) for top placing Cat 3

  1. Nicolai Brochner (Bissell-ABG-Giant)
  2. Dan Ajer (Great Dane Velo Club)
  3. Matt Shriver (Trek)

Masters (35+) Cat 1/2/3 

  1. James Flora (Scarlet Fire Racing)
  2. Nate Iden (Burnham Racing)
  3. Andy Swims (ABD Cycling Club)

Masters (45+) Cat 1/2/3

  1. Dan Verner (PACT)
  2. Paul Swinard (Bicicletta)
  3. Jeff Otto (Scarlet Fire Racing)

Cat 3 (Open) (check out video)

  1. Ryan O’boyle (xXx Racing)
  2. John Berberich (Michael’s Cycles Team)
  3. Erik Kiser (Burnham Racing)


Cat 4 (Open)

  1. Zachary Nehr (ISCorp Cycling/NCSF
  2. Alexander Pearson (Chicago Cuttin Crew)
  3. Jamie Anderson (GDVC)

Masters (30+) Cat 4/5

  1. Matthew Giedt (Quantmodel Cycling Team)


  2. Alex Grant (Union Cycling Team)

  3. Vaidas Barcys (ultimateprobikes.com)

Cat 4/5 (Open)

  1. Joe Berlyoung (Johnny Sprockets)
  2. Matthew Giedt (Quantmodel Cycling Team)
  3. Daniel Fluegel (Michael’s Cycles Team)

Cat 5 (Open)

  1. Daniel Fluegel (Michael’s Cycles Team)
  2. Matthew Giedt (Quantmodel Cycling Team)
  3. Phil Fluegel (Michael’s Cycles Team)

Juniors (10-14) Cat 1/2/3/4/5 (Open)

  1. Sean Mccarthy (South Chicago Wheelmen)
  2. Diego Arana (Beverly Bike/VeePak)
  3. Samuel Spende (ISCorp Cycling Team)

Juniors (15-18) Cat 1/2/3/4/5 (Open)

  1. Nikos Hessert (xXx Racing)
  2. Ben Omalley (xXx Racing)
  3. Ben Freas (ISCorp Cycling Team)

Women Cat 1/2/3/4 (Open)

  1. Holly Mathews (ISCorp p/b Intellgentsia Coffee)
  2. Sarah Rice (Spidermonkey Cycling)
  3. Anne Meyer (Iowa City Cycling Club)

Women Cat 3/4 (Open) (check out this post race video)

  1. Ellen Ryan (xXx Racing)
  2. Daphne Karagianis (Chicago Cuttin Crew)
  3. Mara Baltabols (Bicycle Heaven)

Send along any updates or other race report worthy info to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).  Add your own race highlights, stories, photos, etc. in the Comments!